i2c-EEPROM Access on DragonBoard410c

Hi,
I am new to dragon board 410c.

I have a i2c-eeprom (ATMEL 256 ) connected to my i2c-1 port of the processor. I am using the stock at24 driver available in linux kernel (4.9.27).

I am unable to detect the same. Can anyone help on this ?

The voltage on the i2c-1 port of the 410c is 1.8v. What is the voltage requirement of the i2c-eeprom?

As per the datasheet of EEPROM , it supports 400Khz i2c clock with 1.7 V supply. See the the following snapshot taken from datasheet of EEPROM.

Thanks for sending over the datasheet details. Very helpful. It seems there are two voltage options for the chip. Can you confirm you have the M [1.7v] versus the D [2.5v] option?

Yes, I have “M” version eeprom.

How did you configured the at24 driver?

Forget about the driver. The first step is to check if the device is on the bus. Use i2cdetect and see if the device pops up. If it doesn’t, then you need to look at hardware. If it does, then you need to look at driver.

Providing the EEPROM correctly handles SMBus receive byte (which I think it does… looks like SMBus receive byte maps to current address read in the EEPROM) then this is a good plan. Note that the DB410C I2C controller doesn’t support quick writes so the i2cdetect scan needs the -r argument to force the whole probe to be performed using SMBus receive byte.

Following is the snapshot of i2cdetect … It shows device on 0x64 address which is different than EEPROM.

Following is my device tree file. (Note: 0x64 is my camera chip driver).

&blsp_i2c6 {
	status = "ok";

camera_rear@78 {
		// This port isn't really connected to I2C-6
		// This is a hack until CCI driver is a full i2c driver.
		// The device connections listed are for port J3 - MIPI CSI0
		status = "disabled";
		compatible = "ovti,ov5640";
		reg = <0x78>;

ovti,vflip;
		qcom,use_cci;
		enable-gpios = <&msmgpio 34 GPIO_ACTIVE_LOW>;
		reset-gpios = <&msmgpio 35 GPIO_ACTIVE_LOW>;
		pinctrl-names = "default";