RTC DS1307 on Dragonboard 410c

Hi, i am new to dragonboard and rtc DS1307. So, i don’t have much idea about these and kernel. I am interested in using the DragonBoard 410c for applications where the power is disconnected frequently and no internet connection available. If anyone can guide me how to wiring DS1307 in dragon board, installation instructions and enable it?
Regards

Hardware:

You can find here a tutorial with an I2C light sensor. If not using any mezzanine board, you will need to interface a level shifter to shift Dragonboard 1.8v signaling to RTC DS1307 5v signaling, A previous topic (I2C0 Not working - #9 by Krishna_Katore) contains a schematics example (DO NOT use TXB010x level shifter btw, prefer BSS138, PCA9306… I2C compatible ICs).

Software:

You will need to rebuild the Linux kernel with DS1307 driver (CONFIG_RTC_DRV_DS1307=y). Since I2C is not dynamically enumerable, you have to add an i2c slave node to the device-tree (hardware description) (arch/arm64/boot/dts/qcom/apq8016-sbc.dtsi), something like this:

i2c@78b6000 {
/* On Low speed expansion */`
    label = "LS-I2C0";
    status = "okay";
    rtc@68 {
        compatible = "maxim,ds1307";
        reg = <0x68>; /* I2C address */
    };
};

Then rebuild kernel, DTB, generate bootimg and flash.

thank you for the guidance but i dont know how to rebuild the kernel.I will check that one in internet and try.

This information is available in releases notes: http://builds.96boards.org/releases/dragonboard410c/linaro/debian/latest/, cf How to get and customize the kernel source code.

You need a toolchain for cross-compilation:

$ mkdir toolchain
$ wget releases.linaro.org/components/toolchain/binaries/latest/aarch64-linux-gnu/gcc-*-x86_64_aarch64-linux-gnu.tar.xz
$ tar -xf gcc-*-x86_64_aarch64-linux-gnu.tar.xz -C ./toolchain --strip-components=1

The kernel sources:

$ git clone http://git.linaro.org/landing-teams/working/qualcomm/kernel.git
$ cd kernel