How to enable LDOs in Android bootloader (LK)

Hi everyone,

I’m studying AOSP’s bootloader (LK) with Dragonboard 410c (branch LA.BR.1.2.7-01010-8x16) and I want to enable LDO15 & LDO16 in LK.

My problem is that I just can read the LDO16_EN_CTL register of PMIC (address 0x00014E46, refers to “PM8916 Hardware Register Description” document) by using pm8x41_reg_read() function or REG_READ() macro. But when I try to write new value to this register, the boot process hangs at the call of pm8x41_reg_write(0x00014E46, 0x80) or REG_WRITE(0x00014E46, 0x80) in LK and I have to reflash the on-board eMMC :frowning: (although there’s many calls to REG_WRITE() macro in /lk/dev/pmic/pm8x41/pm8x41.c).

Please help me to solve this problem.
Thanks.

Hi @vutuda,

You are the adventurer. :slight_smile:
We also have only the information about PMIC described in the bellow documentation.

PM8916 Hardware Register Description
https://developer.qualcomm.com/download/sd410/pm8916-hardware-register-description.pdf

The linux kernel might have more info one the LDO15 & LDO16.
http://lxr.free-electrons.com/source/drivers/regulator/qcom_smd-regulator.c

http://lxr.free-electrons.com/source/drivers/regulator/qcom_smd-regulator.c#L364

Hi Mr. Akira Tsukamoto,

Thanks for your info.
But I still wonder why Android stock image does not enable the 1V8 power supply (on Low Speed Expansion connector) or other LDOs in Little Kernel (bootloader) by default.

Anyway, I’ll try to find another ways :slight_smile:

Best regards

Hi,

I just happened to stumble on this thread. Did you find out a way to modify the LDO configuration already in the lk? I would assume you need to configure the other registers as well on that LDO that you are enabling. But it’s still a fragile system and turning on stuff in the wrong order will just not work.

BR,
Nicklas

Hi Vutuda, Nicklas,
did you already made some progress regarding this topic?
I would also be highly interested in leraning how to enable PMICs from lk?