How to Build AOSP Android O

I want to flash Android O to my hikey960, but the official tutorial is using master branch, which is Android P. I tried using branch android-o-mr1-iot-preview-8 and some others, but all failed to booting. Is there any binary file need to include? Is any tutorial to flash Android O? Thanks!

I’m afraid there are no tutorials for this… mostly because we know it doesn’t work (even when they are built the AOSP 8 branches will not have working graphics acceleration).

Hey, I tried building android O too (see my previous thread), but no luck in terms of getting the Hikey960 to boot up. Consensus from the thread on the forum was also that it was not possible.

I’m a newb, apologies in advance for any inaccuracies.

I see so many threads that end the same way. Someone says that the HiKey 960 is only supported by the master branch without explaining why other branches cannot be built.

For instance, I want to embed the HiKey 960 into a device running Android 8.0 Oreo. 3D graphics performance is important, so we plan to use the Vulkan 1.0 API. The ARM Mali GPU user-space binary drivers support android-8.0.0_r36:
https://developer.arm.com/products/software/mali-drivers/user-space

Why is it impossible to build the android-8.0.0_r36 branch instead of the master branch?

@paul: Probably the reason why nobody elaborates on this is because the reason seems (at least to them) to be obvious… it is because the stable branches of Android do not include the code necessary for the board to function, or at least to function fully.

While there are some files in stable branches pertaining to the Hikey 960, they are not complete and will not work.

To put it another way, the reason why it won’t work with a stable branch of Android 8.0 is the same reason why it won’t work with a stable branch of Android 1.0.

My guess (and it is only a guess) is that you can anticipate support in a stable “P”.