Generating a rootfs.img for eMMC

Hi, I am a beginner at building Operating Systems so please bear with me.

I am using the SnapDragon 410c board.

I am using buildroot to generate my kernel. Buildroot has an option to build different rootfs types(e.g. *tar, *cpio, *.romfs, etc…). I use fastboot to flash the boot image and rootfs(generated from buildroot) to the emmc. I also use Linario’s initrd to build the boot.img. When I flash everything and boot, It gets to the ramfs and looks for the rootfs but could not find it. As a result, it goes back to the initramfs shell.
Here is the log :

Begin: Running /scripts/local-premount ... done.
mount: mounting /dev/disk/by-partlabel/rootfs on /root failed: Invalid argument
Begin: Running /scripts/local-bottom ... done.
done.
Begin: Running /scripts/init-bottom ... mount: mounting /dev on /root/dev failed: No such file or directory
done.
mount: mounting /sys on /root/sys failed: No such file or directory
mount: mounting /proc on /root/proc failed: No such file or directory
Target filesystem doesn't have requested /sbin/init.
    No init found. Try passing init= bootarg. 
    BusyBox v1.22.1 (Ubuntu 1:1.22.0-9ubuntu1) built-in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

(initramfs) 

I have tried flashing different types of rootfs except for .img type.
How do I generate a rootfs.img file? (similar to linario’s rootfs)?

Could you fill in a few gaps? Things like which board you are using, which rootfs file you flashed and what “gets stuck” means (what messages are you seeing on the UART)?

Apologies, I have edited the post to contain all the information that you have requested. Hopefully that fills in all the gaps. Just tell if there is anything you want to know.

So… buildroot is unusual in that you can use it as your initramfs (e.g. run everything from RAM… lose any changes on reset) or as a normal filesystem.