DSI panel porting for HiKey 960

I am working on a DSI panel mezzanine. For now I’ve been using a Dragonboard 410C, because it has a clear display porting guide. The display is working now under Android Marshmallow. I now need to move to a more powerful board because of software requirements, such as a HiKey960. However, the process of porting seems different for HiKey960 vs Dragonboard. The most striking difference is that the panel initialization and timing code, as well as general panel selection is not in DTS. There’s only a brief panel@1 {} entry that makes a reference to mipi-hikey.

As I’m fairly new to android kernel development in general, I’m a bit puzzled where to move next. I found panel example code in hikey-linaro/drivers/gpu/drm/hisilicon/kirin960/panel/, but also in hikey-linaro/drivers/gpu/drm/panel/? Looking at the files in there, it looks like I can convert the dtsi files I made for the Dragonboard to what is required there, but how do I make the HiKey960 board switch off the HDMI output (as depicted by the switch between DSI and HDMI in the schematics), and select my custom panel driver code?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

(Edit: updated post to reflect that the display works on DB410c now)

Well I just started digging into the subject matter and one thing I’m running into right now is that it seems that the Kirin 960 doesn’t support DSI lane swapping like the Snapdragon. Is that correct?

I forwarded this question to HiSilicon just now.

1 Like

Thanks, much appreciated.

HiSilicon were quick to respond, unfortunately no lane swapping on HiKey 960.