Some high level questions from a senior software engineer

I’ve been doing software in many different areas for over 20 years (server, client, mobile, gaming, etc), but never at the level of processors and firmware a lot of this is new to me.

I have some probably really obvious and stupid sounding questions, but I’d be really happy if someone could help me wrap my head around a few things.

I am now researching how to create our own OEM tablet because my company is in development mode, and has had trouble with sourcing various commercial white label Android tablets because their Android OS’s are often lacking or buggy. We have to rely on the manufacturer to make fixes, which isn’t working out for various reasons.

So I found Rock960

Question 1:
Is Rock960 meant to be a development board and not for production, similar to Raspberry Pi?

Question 2:
If Rock960 is meant to be a development board, what is the process to move it to production? Design a PCB, find someone to manufacture the other components and assemble?

Question 3:
I see Android images are provided for Rock960. Is there a way to access the source code? For example if in production we want to change the background wallpaper to our brand or pre-install our app?

I’d suggest contacting the vendor to find out if and how they would handle a bulk purchase of the boards: Contact us!

That will depend entirely on your requirements, the size of your production run and your budget!

Rough set of options are:

1. Adopt a development board that meets or nearly meets your needs and arrange a bulk purchase with the vendor. This is typically smallest NRE but greatest per-unit cost and the form-factor of the existing board will influence your industrial design.