Do I really need the exact specified screen?

I didn’t realize before buying that HDMI is not supported with this core board, so am looking to get a screen. The documentation lists a particular screen but I’m having trouble buying it. Is it strictly necessary to use that exact screen? If not, I’d appreciate some recommended alternatives. Don’t need touch-screen functionality, just enough to see what’s going on so I can confirm boot, etc.

Wouldn’t UART be more effective for that?

Potentially but I’m not really an expert and working with a screen is an option I would like to have.

You don’t need to be an expert. The carrier board has a “debug usb” port with a UART-to-USB converter. You just plug a micro-USB wire into the debug port and open it with a terminal program like screen or putty. This also gives you the advantage of beginning output well before the screen would normally come on, so you’ll be able to see WHY it doesn’t start if it doesn’t.

Ok, point taken, but I still want a display for a long list of other reasons. Do you know of one?

Technically, many displays could work with it.

Practically, it looks like there are two connectors on the carrier board; one is on the high-speed connector that is added for mezzanine compatibility with 96boards CE (and therefore some displays for CE may work), and the other is a ribbon connector for raspberry pi displays, suggesting that some displays for raspberry pi may work.

Implementation wise, you have to be careful, since for this type of display, the parameters need to be configured in the kernel, which means that you need to make sure that the display you select has characteristics that match whatever is programmed into the prebuilt kernel (if any!!!), or you’ll have to implement it yourself. And obviously, you’ll also have to verify that the MIPI interface on the board is capable of driving the display that you select.