Booting Linux from SD Card Issues

Sorry if this question has been solved somewhere else, I have had a look through a few pages and couldn’t find the solution. I will delete this post if it’s solved somewhere else. I am also new to dragonboards and linux so apologies if it’s a stupid question.

I am attempting to boot my dragonboard to a custom linux kernel built using buildroot. At first I created the image using the mkbootimg tool found here: http://builds.96boards.org/releases/dragonboard410c/linaro/debian/latest/

Where my inputs were:
Kernel - buildroot created
Ramdisk - initrd img provided from link above.
DT - dt.img from link above
Command Line - root=/dev/disk/by-partlabel/rootfs rw rootwait console=ttyMSM0,115200n8

After fastbooting this to the eMMC however the output through JTAG got up to this line and then stopped.
[1270] Jumping to kernel via monitor

Following this I attempted to boot from SD Card, and used the instructions here, after changing the mkbootimg args to match the details above. At this point I also changed the cmdline arg to /dev/mmcblk1p8:
https://git.linaro.org/ci/job/configs.git/blob/lt-qcom-debian-images-arm64/installer-dragonboard-410c.sh

Upon attempting to boot up again the same error occurs.

I changed the command line args serial port to ttyHSL0 following advice on this forum, with no luck. It also didn’t match the output when booting the linaro debian image from eMMC so that lead to another dead end.

I have also looked here, and attempted to create the SD card and then drag the linaro provided images into the correct partitions: https://github.com/96boards/documentation/wiki/Dragonboard-410c-GPT#create-a-bootable-sd-card
At this point however the partition sizes on the SD card weren’t large enough to hold those in.